• Livingston Equity and Diversity Logo

    Livingston Public Schools’ Equity Goal seeks to improve the culture and community with LPS by enhancing inclusiveness, cultural awareness, anti-racism, and acceptance of individual differences through mandated curricular programming, extracurricular programming, and district operations.

  • The Collins Elementary School's Equity Team supports to the district goals and has individualized our work towards the achievement of these goals as indicated below:

    1. Identify, create and outline lessons and experiences for Grade Level Buddies (1 & 3 and 2 & 4) to teach and lead the understanding of, internalizing and teaching of the 100%'s as done with the K & 5 buddy program.

    2. Eliminate the use of racial and ethnic slurs and gestures within the Grade 4 & 5 school levels in Collins.

Collins Equity Team FAQs

  • Where can I learn more about what Collins is doing?

    Posted by:
    Comments (-1)
  • What is the Collins Equity Team?

    Posted by:

    Livingston Public Schools’ Equity Goal seeks to improve the culture and community with LPS by enhancing inclusiveness, cultural awareness, anti-racism, and acceptance of individual differences through mandated curricular programming, extracurricular programming, and district operations. We are in the very early stages of our work and with each day we realize how much more we need to do in ensuring each of our students know they belong and are sure they are valued in our schools. 

    In response to this goal, LPS created District and Building Equity Teams to put “equity into action” at every level across the school community through:

    • Data analysis and planning
    • Coaching educators on equity, anti-racism and inclusion in the classroom.
    • Planning and facilitating community conversations

    The Equity Teams continue to work with teachers to make instruction more responsive to diversity, and inclusive of various cultures. The teams also work to strategically implement professional development and school-based programming focused on diversity, anti-racism, and cultural inclusivity in teaching and learning in order to create a common language and set of expectations for the school community.

    Comments (-1)
  • What are the 100's?

    Posted by:

    Between January 2021 and March 2022, Livingston Public School staff, students, and family members worked to create our district's commitments to equity. Click here to view our commitments to equity. 

    Comments (-1)
  • What are the goals of the Collins Equity Team this year?

    Posted by:

    The Equity teams continue to work with teachers to make instruction more responsive to diversity, and inclusive of various cultures. The teams also work to strategically implement professional development and school-based programming focused on diversity, anti-racism, and cultural inclusivity in teaching and learning in order to create a common language and set of expectations for the school community.

    DISTRICT GOAL: Community and Culture - Engaging all stakeholders, especially students and their families and guardians, in educational programs is essential to creating a community of equity in our school district. Ensure just outcomes for each student, raise marginalized voices, and challenge imbalances of power and privilege. 

    • Review School and District-Wide Equity Data
    • District-Wide Equity Audit
    • Community Survey from 10/26
    • HIB Data from 2022-23 School Year
    • Provide Educational Opportunities for Students, Staff, and Community Members to Increase Positive Student-Student and Student-Teacher Interactions around Culture and Equity
    • Continue Curriculum, Assessment, and Instructional Audit beyond the Social Studies discipline
    • Continue to use Talents of Faculty/Staff to facilitate our Equity Work
     
    The Collins Elementary School's Equity team supports the district goals and has individualized our work towards the achievement of these goals as indicated below:
     
    1. Identify, create and outline lessons and experiences for Grade Level Buddies (1 & 3 and 2 & 4) to teach and lead the understanding of, internalizing and teaching of the 100%’s as done with the K & 5 buddy program.
     
    2. Eliminate the use of racial and ethnic slurs and gestures within the Grade 4 & 5 school levels in Collins. 
     
    Comments (-1)
  • How can I get involved?

    Posted by:

    If you are interested in learning more about and/or joining the Collins Equity Team, please reach out to Meredith Pannia (Collins Equity Coach)  at mpannia@livingston.org 

    Comments (-1)

Collins Equity Team Members

Name Email Address
Susan Carter scarter@livingston.org
Michelle Cebula mcebula@livingston.org
Greer Gelman ggelman@livingston.org
Jacqueline Gronek jgronek@livingston.org
Margaret Mitchell mmitchell@livingston.org
Meredith Pannia mpannia@livingston.org
Angela Selnick aselnick@livingston.org
Sheila Stafford SStafford@livingston.org
Jennifer Vernotica jvernotica@livingston.org
Holly Prince hollyaprince@gmail.com
Bhoomi Shah shahbhoomik@gmail.com
Khyati Chhadwa khyatichhadwa@gmail.com
Sakshi Gupta gsakshi1802@gmail.com
Meghan Lembeck meghan.lembeck@gmail.com
Adetoknubo Daini adaini@gmail.com
Purba Ganguly purbaganguly@yahoo.com
Candy Ricci riccicandy@yahoo.com
Marlena Baird mbaird@livingston.org
Stephanie Crosby scrosby@livingston.org
Kelly Feeney kfeeney@livingston.org
Brynn Mighenelli bmighenelli@livingston.org

Upcoming Meeting Dates

  • October 4, 2023 - 6pm 

    November 14, 2023 - 6pm 

    December 6, 2023 - 6pm

    The following meeting dates are to be determined at each Equity Meeting.