• Livingston Equity and Diversity Logo

    Livingston Public Schools’ Equity Goal seeks to improve the culture and community with LPS by enhancing inclusiveness, cultural awareness, anti-racism, and acceptance of individual differences through mandated curricular programming, extracurricular programming, and district operations.

Collins Equity Team FAQs

  • What is the Collins Equity Team?

    Posted by:

    Livingston Public Schools’ Equity Goal seeks to improve the culture and community with LPS by enhancing inclusiveness, cultural awareness, anti-racism, and acceptance of individual differences through mandated curricular programming, extracurricular programming, and district operations. We are in the very early stages of our work and with each day we realize how much more we need to do in ensuring each of our students know they belong and are sure they are valued in our schools. 

    In response to this goal, LPS created District and Building Equity Teams to put “equity into action” at every level across the school community through:

    • Data analysis and planning
    • Coaching educators on equity, anti-racism and inclusion in the classroom.
    • Planning and facilitating community conversations

    The Equity Teams continue to work with teachers to make instruction more responsive to diversity, and inclusive of various cultures. The teams also work to strategically implement professional development and school-based programming focused on diversity, anti-racism, and cultural inclusivity in teaching and learning in order to create a common language and set of expectations for the school community.

    Comments (-1)
  • What are the goals of the Collins Equity Team this year?

    Posted by:

    The Equity teams continue to work with teachers to make instruction more responsive to diversity, and inclusive of various cultures. The teams also work to strategically implement professional development and school-based programming focused on diversity, anti-racism, and cultural inclusivity in teaching and learning in order to create a common language and set of expectations for the school community.

    This school year, the goals of the Collins Equity Team are to: 

    • Ensure all students feel safe and accepted at Collins School
    • Design structures/events for community engagement over the year to create a more inclusive environment
     
    Comments (-1)
  • How can I get involved?

    Posted by:

    If you are interested in learning more about and/or joining the Collins Equity Team, please reach out to Sue Carter at 973-535-8000 (ext. 6901) or scarter@livingston.org.

    Comments (-1)

Collins Equity Team Members

Name Email Address
Gabrielle Altstadter gabbyalts@gmail.com
Susan Carter scarter@livingston.org
Michelle Cebula mcebula@livingston.org
XI Chen tapdogcx@gmail.com
Osato Chitou mrschitou@gmail.com
Carlos Duarte cduarte@livingston.org
Kate Gardoqui kgardoqui@greatschoolspartnership.org
Greer Gelman ggelman@livingston.org
Jacqueline Gronek jgronek@livingston.org
Abby Guralnick abby.guralnick@gmail.com
Tara Heyderman tarap14@gmail.com
Martha Kiem marthasimpsonkiem@gmail.com
Stefanie Lichtstein SLichtstein@livingston.org
Yan Luo luoyanjessica@gmail.com
Ashley Messer amesser@livingston.org
Margaret Mitchell mmitchell@livingston.org
Satya Narisety satyanarisety@hotmail.com
Cheyna Oneil cheynaoneil@aol.com
Meredith Pannia mpannia@livingston.org
Judy Penaherrera landlriv@gmail.com
Kiran Reddy kiranred@gmail.com
Brynn Reid breid@livingston.org
Amelia Rieth ARieth@livingston.org
Angela Selnick aselnick@livingston.org
Sheila Stafford SStafford@livingston.org
Tripti Surana tsurana@hotmail.com
Jennifer Vernotica jvernotica@livingston.org
Tina Wu tinawu1@yahoo.com
Mel Wurtele melaniewurtele@gmail.com
Joy Yuane yj340@shp.rutgers.edu

Upcoming Meeting Dates

  • October 28, 2021
    November 23, 2021
    December 21, 2021
    January 25, 2022
    March 1, 2022
    March 29, 2022
    April 26, 2022
    May 3, 2022