• Livingston Equity and Diversity Logo

    Livingston Public Schools’ Equity Goal seeks to improve the culture and community with LPS by enhancing inclusiveness, cultural awareness, anti-racism, and acceptance of individual differences through mandated curricular programming, extracurricular programming, and district operations.

     

Heritage Equity Team FAQs

  • What is the Heritage Equity Team?

    Posted by:

    Livingston Public Schools’ Equity Goal seeks to improve the culture and community with LPS by enhancing inclusiveness, cultural awareness, anti-racism, and acceptance of individual differences through mandated curricular programming, extracurricular programming, and district operations. We are in the very early stages of our work and with each day we realize how much more we need to do in ensuring each of our students know they belong and are sure they are valued in our schools. 

    In response to this goal, LPS created District and Building Equity Teams to put “equity into action” at every level across the school community through:

    • Data analysis and planning
    • Coaching educators on equity, anti-racism and inclusion in the classroom.
    • Planning and facilitating community conversations

    The Equity Teams continue to work with teachers to make instruction more responsive to diversity, and inclusive of various cultures. The teams also work to strategically implement professional development and school-based programming focused on diversity, anti-racism, and cultural inclusivity in teaching and learning in order to create a common language and set of expectations for the school community.

    Comments (-1)
  • What are the goals of the Heritage Equity Team this year?

    Posted by:

    The Equity teams continue to work with teachers to make instruction more responsive to diversity, and inclusive of various cultures. The teams also work to strategically implement professional development and school-based programming focused on diversity, anti-racism, and cultural inclusivity in teaching and learning in order to create a common language and set of expectations for the school community.

    DISTRICT GOAL: Community and Culture - Engaging all stakeholders, especially students and their families and guardians, in educational programs is essential to creating a community of equity in our school district. Ensure just outcomes for each student, raise marginalized voices, and challenge imbalances of power and privilege. 

    • Review School and District-Wide Equity Data
    • District-Wide Equity Audit
    • Community Survey from 10/26
    • HIB Data from 2022-23 School Year
    • Provide Educational Opportunities for Students, Staff, and Community Members to Increase Positive Student-Student and Student-Teacher Interactions around Culture and Equity
    • Continue Curriculum, Assessment, and Instructional Audit beyond the Social Studies discipline
    • Continue to use Talents of Faculty/Staff to facilitate our Equity Work
     
    The Heritage Middle School's Equity team supports the district goals and has individualized our work towards the achievement of these goals as indicated below:
     
    1. Continue the ongoing refinement and alignment of 7th and 8th-grade advisory lessons and resources with a commitment to adhere to District 100%s and to foster meaningful discussions among students and staff on the topics of diversity, equity, and inclusion.
     
    2. Empower student voices by implementing student-led initiatives within the school, providing opportunities for active participation in decision-making processes and fostering an inclusive and supportive environment that amplifies diverse perspectives.
     
     
     
    Comments (-1)
  • How can I get involved?

    Posted by:

    If you are interested in learning more about and/or joining the Heritage Equity Team, please reach out to Shawn Kelly at skelly@livingston.org or Kristin Fullam at kfullam@livingston.org

    Comments (-1)

Heritage Equity Team Members

Name Email Address
Shawn Kelly skelly@livingston.org
Kristin Fullam kfullam@livingston.org
Karen Pinto kpinto@livingston.org
Lara Schipior lschipior@livingston.org
Tom Truscello ttruscello@livingston.org
Ekatrina Vorobiev evorobiev@livingston.org
Breanne Mannes bmannes@livingston.org
Lenore Gallo lgallo@livingston.org
Jamie Wolek jwolek@livingston.org
Luca Bonvini lbonvini@livingston.org
Cindy Cooney ccooney@livingston.org
Christalla Pahhas cpahhas@livingston.org
Isabel Vila ivila@livingston.org
Susan Tannler stannler@livingston.org

Upcoming Meeting Dates

  • Upcoming Equity Meeting: Wednesday, April 24th at 6:30 PM in the HMS Media Center.  All are welcome!
     
     

Observances and Celebrations