Return to Headlines

National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists

photo of national merit semifinalists

Twelve Livingston High School students were named among the approximately 16,000 semifinalists in the 65th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. Dina Brustein, Jacqueline Chan, Erin Chang, Aditi Desai, Kenneth Ding, Jeffrey Liao, Nirav Patel, Katrina Pham, Ethan Reiter, Angela Wei, Ian Xiong and Emily Zhang have advanced in the competition. 

These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,600 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $31 million that will be offered next spring. To be considered for a Merit Scholarship award, semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the finalist level of the competition. Over 90 percent of the semifinalists are expected to attain finalist standing, and about half of the finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar title!