Return to Headlines

National Merit Scholarship Semi-Finalists Announced

photo of nms semi finalists
Sixteen Livingston High School students were named among the approximately 16,000 semi-finalists in the 66th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. Kevin Chen, Ethan Dcosta, Aditya Desai, Joyce He, Jared Hershey, Rachelle Hu, Divyank Jain, Jesse Li, Carolyn Meng, Leo Stepanewk, Hannah Swee, Edward Wang, Nicholas Wang, Kasey Wei, Rosa Xia, and Lucy Xu have advanced in the competition. 
These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,600 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $30 million that will be offered next spring. To be considered for a Merit Scholarship award, semi-finalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the finalist level of the competition. Over 90 percent of the semifinalists are expected to attain finalist standing, and more than half of the finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar title!