Return to Headlines

Seal of Biliteracy 2024


Fifty-nine graduating LHS seniors achieved the 2024 State Seal of Biliteracy in Chinese, French, Hindi, Italian, Russian and Spanish..The State Seal of Biliteracy is a special recognition awarded by the New Jersey Department of Education to celebrate graduating high school students who have successfully demonstrated a high level of proficiency in speaking, reading, listening and writing in one or more World Languages in addition to English. In order to be eligible for a State Seal, students must earn a score of 5 or higher in each language domain: reading, writing, listening and speaking.


This school year, two students were recognized for earning the Seal of Biliteracy in two languages and one student was recognized for earning the Seal of Biliteracy in three languages! 

Melina Xue and Daisy J. Yao both earned the Seal in Chinese and Spanish, while Theodore Oubrier earned the seal in Russian, French, and Chinese.


Following is the full list of Seal of Biliteracy recipients for the 2023-2024 school year.


Students recognized for Chinese included:

Andrew Chen

Yunchieh Chiu

Heather Choi

Sheryl Liu

Kate Lu

Maxwell Lu

Kristen Ngai

Renee Ngai

Theophile Oubrier

Audrey (Chenxi) Wang

David D. Wang

Stephen Wang

Yunfeng Wu

Melina Xue

Sophia Yan

Daisy Yao

Katie Zhang


Students recognized for French included:

Chloe Marrache

Theophile Oubrier


Students recognized for Hindi included:

Krish Kapoor

Tanirika Singh


Students recognized for Italian included:

Zack Ledesma


Students recognized for Russian included

Theophile Oubrier

Nazar Pshenov


Students recognized for Spanish included:

Gabriel Adest

Mahnoosh Arsalan

Nikita Bajaj

Elexa Bragarnik

Cristina Burga

Taylor Dannis

Jake Ferrans

Carol Flores

Alina George

Sebastian Germano

Caitlin Hernandez

Jonathan Hong

Anita Joshi

Layton Lee

Timothy Lien

Erika Massiani

Samantha Mintz

Amy Morales

Kayla Osorio

Angelina Paradiso

Madison Peloquin

Advaith Pillai

Jhoanny Puello

Jenna Raiss

Askhaya Shankar

Rachel Shukhman

Luke Siegel

Raquel Silva

Madison Slosberg

Daniel Tavera

Tessa Thomas

Sheyla D. Torres

Luis A. Valdez-Reyes

Emma Wang

Isabella Weisman

Abigail Weiss

Melina Xue

Daisy J. Yao

Natalia Zuniga-Ramos