Return to Headlines


Members of Heritage Middle School's Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA) attended the State Leadership Conference on April 8, 2024 at Kean University. There were a total of 48 students who competed in both objective and performance competitions, with 41 of those students winning awards. Subsequently, 25 members qualified to move on to the competition at the FBLA Nationals later this year in Orlando, Florida.


When students were not competing, they participated in workshops with topics such as networking, money management and public speaking. The FBLA chapter at HMS also was recognized with awards for its contribution to the organization.


Future Business Leaders of America inspires and prepares students to become community minded business leaders in a global society through relevant career preparing and leadership experiences. Business education teacher Cindy Cooney serves as the HMS FBLA advisor.


Shown in the photo are Prisha Das-Khan, Angelina Fernandez, Eshaal Farhad, Rhyna Patel, Myra Dhawan, Naisha Bhagashra, Annika Raj, Sanaya Jhaveri, Tara Sarode, Mayuri Narang, Tegan Lin, Aashrita Bhagashra, Jessica Niu, Anya Dugar, Charlotte Shi, Esha Agrawal, Anirudh Ganesh, Rayna Thomas, Riddhi Chandra, Sanvi Agarwal, Charlotte Lennon and Aashi Kohad.


The following students also won awards: Zoe Barnes, Asmi Barve, Neil Batra, Evaan Bitta, Mahi Biswas, Gauree Chakroborty, Revisha Dudeja, Vidhi Dugar, Garv Goyal, Aanya Gupta, Aarush Gupta, Kruthy Mellacheruvu, Yuvraj Patel, Jason Qi, Aanya Rajsharma, Elisha Rao, Meghna Sampath, Sara Thomas, Arin Walli, Luke Wang, and Jeffrey Xiong.